It was 12:30 after midnight. I was simply watching TV, ready to switch it off and go to sleep when my friend texted “Bro, Chester died.” Obviously, I didn’t believe him at first. Chester? Chester Charles Bennington of Linkin Park? Dead? No fuckin’ way.

I typed ‘Chester Bennington’ in Google’s search box to tell my friend it was just another rumour, and then the world stopped moving for a bit. There were links from news sites saying he’s committed suicide. I visited Twitter to see Mike Shinoda confirming the news while all the celebrities and fans were mourning him and posting photos and videos.

I’d known about the band since I was 10 but I wasn’t a fan then. It’s only been a year since I’ve become a die-hard fan. I listen to Linkin Park while travelling, studying, doing nothing and there are almost always Linkin Park lyrics that come out whenever I feel like singing.

In this one year, Linkin Park has become my mirror of feelings, and the credit hugely goes to Chester. He’s the voice that screams when I’m frustrated, the voice that sings like an angel when life’s left me blind and sad. He knows what it’s like to be someone that could relate to the band’s lyrics. I was never a rock fan, or a metalhead, but I would now forever remain a Linkin Park fan.

What the hell happened?! It was only 2 months ago that I saw him almost breaking down and heard his voice crack while singing ‘One More Light’ dedicated to his departed friend Chris Cornell. To imagine what must be going on inside the guy’s brain for these 2 months is horrifying. He finally reached the breaking point on Cornell’s birthday. It didn’t matter who loved him or didn’t. There was only pain and the one terrible solution.

What happens to Linkin Park now? 20 years down the line and this is how it ends? I hope and pray it doesn’t. If it doesn’t, how will they do it without one of the most versatile vocalists in the world?

Rest in peace, Chester…

“Who cares if one more light goes out

In a sky of a million stars?

It flickers, flickers

Who cares when someone’s time runs out

If a moment is all we are?

We’re quicker, quicker

Who cares if one more light goes out?

Well, I do.”

